Don’t Be Fooled – A DUI First Offense is Not a Minor Charge!
Many California residents believe that being arrested for a DUI for the first time is no big deal – that, because they’ve never been convicted of a DUI before, getting arrested for one will ultimately not be problematic in the near future. But the reality is, even a DUI first offense is something to be concerned about, which is why you need to contact Erica M. Bansmer, Esq., the minute you’ve been arrested.
What are the potential penalties for a DUI first offense?
When it comes to DUIs, California law can be a little tricky. If this is your first time getting arrested for a DUI, and assuming that no one has been injured and/or killed as a result of you driving under the influence, you could be looking at the following penalties:
- A fine of $390, plus over $1,000 in penalties, and additional penalties for DUI-only assessments. All told, you’re looking at close to $2,000 in fines and penalties.
- You will be required to attend a three-month alcohol treatment program, and pay an additional $500 for your trouble. If, however, you had a BAC of more than .2%, you will be required to attend the treatment program for nine months. Even after you complete the program, your license will still be suspended for 30 days, and your driving will be restricted for up to eight months. If you refuse to take the treatment program, or if you fail to satisfactorily complete the program, your license will be suspended for up to 10 months, with no questions asked.
- You face up to 48 hours in jail, plus an additional six months in jail depending on what, precisely, you’re convicted of.
- You will be required to give up your driver’s license for at least 30 days. When your license is restored, it will be restricted (meaning you can only go to and from work, or to and from your treatment program) for five months.
- Your vehicle will be impounded – that means you won’t have access to the vehicle at all, and if you want to get it out of storage, you’re going to have to pay hefty fines to do so.
All told, you face thousands of dollars in fines and penalties, loss of your freedom (if only temporarily), a suspended license that will prevent you from getting to and from your job with ease (and, once your license is restored, your freedom of movement will be severely restricted), lost wages thanks to the program you have to attend, and many other inconveniences. And this is assuming that you haven’t seriously injured or killed anyone as a result of your DUI – if you have, the penalties are much stiffer!
Contact Bansmer Law To Defend You Against Your DUI First Offense!
You shouldn’t have to face your DUI first offense, and its penalties, alone – contact us today for your free, no obligation consultation and let’s see how we can help you.