Understanding the DUI Consequences in California
You know that you should never drink and drive. But you may not be fully aware of the DUI consequences if you were to get caught behind the wheel with a blood-alcohol content above .08. The penalties are stiff for your first offense. And they get significantly tougher on subsequent offenses.
California is serious about keeping the roads safe, which is why they do not go easy regarding DUI consequences. First offenders can spend four days in jail, or as much as six months. They will be required to pay up to $1,000 in fines and have their license suspended for a period ranging from 30 days to 10 months. In some counties, you may also be required to install a device called an IID on your car, which checks your BAC before starting the engine.
The next time you get caught the DUI consequences jump up significantly. You could go to jail for 10 days all the way up to a year. You will have to pay up to $1,800, and your license could be suspended for up to 2 years. You may also have to once again install an IID on your vehicle. Plus, a DUI charge attaches a stigma to the offender. Multiple charges only make that worse.
As you would expect, the DUI consequences the third time around gets much worse. The potential jail time expands to 120 days up to one year, and the fines and penalties will cost you another $1,800. You will potentially lose your license for up to 3 years and be forced to drive with an IID.
The DUI consequences become really severe the fourth time around. If you are arrested for a fourth DUI within 10 months of your third you could go to jail for 16 months, be forced to pay up to $18,000 and lose your license for up to 4 years.
Keep in mind that there are ways to lower or even avoid some or all of these DUI consequences. But to do that you need to have quality legal representation on your side. Set up a consultation with Erica M. Bansmer Attorney at Law by calling 209-474-2400.Back to blog home