California controlled substance law classifies not only well-known drugs like cannabis, heroin, and cocaine as substances that are controlled but also the compounds used to produce them. The possession of CDS on the market or distribution carries penalties that are distinct.
All drug possession offenses in California Controlled Substance Law are categorized as infractions, misdemeanors, “wobblers,” or felonies. Infractions don’t include jail time and are the least serious, misdemeanors may result in up to per year in jail, and felonies carry state penitentiary terms of a year or more. A wobbler is a crime that sentenced or can be charged as a felony or a misdemeanor, depending upon the conclusions of the prosecutor and/or judge and the situation.
California divides its CDS into five “schedules.”
- Schedule I drugs (such as marijuana or opiates).
- Schedule II drugs (such as morphine and raw opium).
- Schedule III drugs (such as anabolic steroids and pentobarbital).
- Schedule IV drugs (such as zolpidem and diazepam).
- Schedule V drugs (such as codeine).
Possession of Schedule I, II, III, IV CDS
Possession of some quantity of the following CDS is punishable by up to one year of imprisonment in the county jail:
Schedule I peyote, synthetic cannabis, mescaline, cocaine base, opium derivatives, or opiates (including their ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and isomers)
Schedule II opiates or narcotics
Schedule III hallucinogens, and
Schedule III, IV or V narcotics without a legitimate prescription.
California Controlled Substance Law
However, under Proposition 47, California Controlled Substance Law has decreased punishments can be found only to offenders who will not be registered sex offenders, or who not have prosecutions for previous violent or serious offenses, such as firearm offenses and homicide and specific sex. Defendants who don’t qualify for misdemeanor treatment can be charged with felonies or wobblers, depending upon the quantity accessible and the drug. Possession of Cannabis. The unlawful possession of cannabis is penalized based on the quantity of the CDS included.
Possession of any quantity of targeted cannabis is punishable by a fine of up to $500, incarceration of up to 12 months, or both. Possession of not more than 28.5 grams of cannabis, other than concentrated marijuana, is an offense and is punishable by a fine of not more than $100. Possession in excess of 28.5 grams of cannabis, other than concentrated marijuana, is punishable by imprisonment of up to six months, an excellent of not more than $500, or both. A man over the age of 18 who have less than 28.5 grams of cannabis, other than concentrated marijuana, on the reasons of an elementary, heart, or senior high school during college hours is responsible of the misdemeanor and is subject to incarceration of up to 10 days, an excellent of $500, or both. Read more about California controlled substance law here.Back to blog home